Source-dated 9–23 Sep 2026, 1 not recorded, each row dated below, from official pages where we opened them. Unpublished fees are not a 0%-commission take-home. Community reports are not a wage table.
How to read the basis column
"Advertised" means the platform itself publishes that rate. "Asking" means tutors set a price the source publishes. "Estimated" is our figure from third-party sources — not a published wage. "Not published" means the source shows no hourly rate. Commission not published means no fee was on the official page. Read the methodology for definitions and the evidence table for every source check.
All 57 programmes
| Programme | Pay | Basis | Commission | Requirements (degree / cert / experience / native-speaker) | Source checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accepting applications (46) | |||||
| Preply | USD 15 to 25 per hour Tutor asking prices (tutors set their own rate), not typical earnings. |
Tutor-set asking price the source publishes | 18 to 33% sliding commission | No / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Outschool | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | 30% published commission | No / No / Yes / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| AmazingTalker | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Service fees vary by teacher level; higher levels can qualify for discounts. Check the current teacher-level rules for your price and fee. | No / No / Yes / No | 18 Sep 2026 |
| GoStudent | GBP 13 per 50 minute English lesson The platform advertises this pay per 50 minute English lesson. It is not an hourly rate, so we show it as published rather than converting it. |
Basis not recorded | Commission not published | Not stated / Not stated / Not stated / Not stated | 19 Sep 2026 |
| EF Education First | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / No / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| Novakid | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Not stated / Yes / Yes / Not stated | 20 Sep 2026 |
| Engoo | USD 2.40 to 10 per hour, teacher reported Teacher reported, not published by the platform. |
Teachers reported it; not published by the platform | Commission not published | No / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| SkimaTalk | USD 8 per 25 minute session The platform advertises this pay per 25 minute session. It is not an hourly rate, so we show it as published rather than converting it. |
Basis not recorded | 20% published commission | No / No / No / Yes | 18 Sep 2026 |
| Lingoda | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / Yes / Yes / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| 51Talk | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Not stated / No / No / No | 19 Sep 2026 |
| Magic Ears | USD 19 to 26 per hour, advertised Advertised range, not typical take-home. |
Rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / No / No / Yes | 18 Sep 2026 |
| LingoAce | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / Yes / Not stated | 20 Sep 2026 |
| Varsity Tutors | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / No / Yes / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| Brighterly | No hourly rate published Published as USD 350 to 1,300 per month (Brighterly's own statements: tutors 'can earn up to $350+' in the first month and 'top performers earn $1,300+ per month'); not comparable hourly. |
No hourly rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / No / Yes / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| WuKong Math | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / No / Yes / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| Tutor.com | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Not stated / Not stated / Not stated / No | 19 Sep 2026 |
| Ringle | USD 17 to 22 per hour, advertised Advertised range, not typical take-home. |
Rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / No / Yes / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Verbling | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / No / Yes / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| NativeCamp | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| BlingABC | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / No / No | 14 Sep 2026 |
| Open English | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / Yes / Yes / Yes | 13 Sep 2026 |
| Superprof | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | 0 to 10% sliding commission | No / No / No / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| Polly English | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / Yes / No | 18 Sep 2026 |
| Twenix | Rate published in EUR Published as EUR 8 to 15 per hour (set by country: UK €12–15/hour, Argentina €8–10/hour; confirmed during selection); not compared with US-dollar rates. |
No hourly rate published by the platform | Commission not published | No / No / No / No | 17 Sep 2026 |
| NIL English | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / No / No / No | 14 Sep 2026 |
| Ginseng English | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / Yes / Yes / No | 14 Sep 2026 |
| PalFish | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | About 20% reported (not published by the platform) | No / Yes / No / No | Source page no longer loads (palfishapp.com DNS failed) |
| Learnlight | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / Yes / Yes | Source page no longer loads (learnlight.com/teach 403 Forbidden) |
| Inglesissimo | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / Yes / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Verbal Planet | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | No / No / No / No | 14 Sep 2026 |
| Classgap | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | About 20% reported (not published by the platform) | No / No / No / No | Source page no longer loads (classgap.com/en/become-a-tutor 404) |
| Live Lingua | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / Yes / Yes | 16 Sep 2026 |
| K12 | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / Yes / No | 13 Sep 2026 |
| StarKid | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / No / Yes | 14 Sep 2026 |
| Cafe Talk | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | 20 to 40% sliding commission | No / Yes / No / No | 18 Sep 2026 |
| BookNook | USD 20 per hour, advertised Fixed advertised rate. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | No / No / Yes / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Littera Education | USD 18 per hour, advertised Fixed advertised rate. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | No / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Wyzant | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | 25% published commission | No / No / No / No | 9 Sep 2026 |
| Elevate K-12 | USD 22 to 40 per hour, advertised Advertised range, not typical take-home. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Yes / Yes / No / No | 18 Sep 2026 |
| Proximity Learning | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Yes / Yes / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Paper | USD 23.50 per hour tutoring / USD 20.50 per hour training Advertised hourly components from the source posting, not a single flat wage. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Not stated / Not stated / Not stated / Not stated | 20 Sep 2026 |
| The Really Great Teacher Company | USD 6.50 per hour, advertised Fixed advertised rate. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Yes / Yes / Yes / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| All Right | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Not stated / Not stated / Not stated / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| CNK English | No hourly rate published Published as USD 6.30 to 12.60 per class (25 or 50 minutes) ($6.30 per 25-minute class, $12.60 per 50-minute class); not comparable hourly. |
No hourly rate published by the platform | No platform commission | No / Not stated / Not stated / Yes | 16 Sep 2026 |
| ClassForThat | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | 20% published commission | No / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| eHello | No hourly rate published Published as up to USD 18 per group lesson (up to $18 per lesson for teachers who can teach group lessons); not comparable hourly. |
No hourly rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Limited or waitlist (8) | |||||
| Cambly | USD 0.17 per minute The platform advertises this pay per minute. It is not an hourly rate, so we show it as published rather than converting it. |
Basis not recorded | No platform commission | No / No / No / Yes | 17 Sep 2026 |
| italki | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission varies by lesson type: trial lessons 0%; single lessons 21%; 5-lesson packages 19%; 10-lesson packages 17%; 15- and 20-lesson packages 15%; group classes 30%. | No / No / No / No | 18 Sep 2026 |
| Qkids | USD 12 to 16 per hour, advertised Advertised range, not typical take-home. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Yes / Yes / No / Yes | 16 Sep 2026 |
| English Hunt | USD 16 per hour, advertised Fixed advertised rate. |
Rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / Yes / Yes | 18 Sep 2026 |
| VIPTeacher | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / No / No / Yes | 16 Sep 2026 |
| LanguaTalk | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | 16% published commission | No / No / Yes / Yes | 14 Sep 2026 |
| Revolution Prep | USD 23 to 29 per hour, advertised Advertised range, not typical take-home. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Yes / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Measurement Incorporated | USD 15 per hour, advertised Fixed advertised rate. |
Rate published by the platform | No platform commission | Yes / No / No / No | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Application route unconfirmed (1) | |||||
| EF English Live | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no tutor rate. |
Plain Chalk estimate from third-party sources | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / No / No | Source page no longer loads (ef.com/english-live 404) |
| Ended programmes (2) | |||||
| LingoStar | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Not stated / Not stated / Not stated / Not stated | Source page no longer loads (lingostar.applytojob.com redirected) |
| Babbel Live | Pay given when you apply The source publishes no rate for this role. |
No rate published by the platform | Commission not published | Yes / Yes / No / No | not recorded |
Every figure traces to data/jobs.json. 46 accepting applications, 8 limited or waitlisted, 1 application route unconfirmed, 2 ended. By pay basis: 11 advertised, 1 asking, 25 estimated, 1 community-reported, 16 with no published pay. Each listing is source-dated. See the methodology and evidence pages.