All teaching jobs

Ignite Reading

Tutor educator Fall 2026

English online

Checked Hiring now

What it pays

USD 17.50 to 20 per hour

  • Training then certified tutor
  • How the rate changes: Paid by the hour as part-time employees: $17.50 for certification and practicum hours, $20 for tutoring and assessment hours, including when a student is absent. Tutoring is done in 15-minute sessions (at least 4 students a day), so what you earn depends on how many sessions you are scheduled for. source

Pay by tier

Two-stage pay: certification rate, then certified rate

TierPayBasis
Certification and practicum rateTutor educators completing their certification17.5 per hour, currency not statedEmployer’s rate
Certified tutor rateUSD 20 per hourEmployer’s rate

The job

Work location
Online
Company based in
San Francisco, California, United States
Lesson length
15 minutes
Students
Children
Hours and time zone
“At least 3 consistent weekday hours” from our notes
Minimum weekly hours
Not stated
Start date
Fall 2026
Contract type
“Part-time literacy tutoring” from our notes
How you’re paid
Per hour
Listed by
Direct employer

Company base: Published contact address source, checked 19 Sep 2026. This is where the company is, not where you must live.

Who can apply

As stated

Requires US citizenship, a US residential mailing address and bank account, and availability for sessions between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. ET. State exclusions apply; see full requirements.

Not stated in the posting

Nothing else to flag from the recorded wording.

Check anything not stated with the employer before you apply.

What we found when we checked

What the source says

We pay $17.50 per hour for certification class time and tutoring practicum hours and $20 per hour for regular tutoring and student assessment hours, even when students are absent.
Source
ignite-reading.com · Published by the employer
Checked
, the day we read the source, not a posting date
Published pay terms
USD 17.50 to 20 per hour (training then certified tutor)
Application information
ignite-reading.com shows an open application (checked 18 Sep 2026)
Recorded lesson information
15-minute tutoring sessions

Teachers say

Comments teachers have posted publicly, quoted exactly and linked to where they were posted. We checked on 18 Sep 2026 that each quote appears where it was posted.

  • You are NOT paid $20/hour. That is misleading. You are paid $5 per 15-minute session

    Reddit (quoted via brighterly.com blog) Read it there

About Ignite Reading

More from this employer

You apply on the employer’s own page; no Plain Chalk account needed.

Are you Ignite Reading? Email us to verify or correct this listing, or to send us your vacancies directly. To protect employers, we act only on messages we can tie to the employer’s own website, and we confirm by replying there. How verification works

Hiring teachers? Post a vacancy for free

USD 17.50 to 20 per hour
Apply

Training then certified tutor